Sometimes a couple countries decides to change the future datetime interval that the country will use as referencial time to jump from CST to CDT or DST to CST, so for that case is important have all the servers in sync, so the best way is to update the timezone list of each server.

The file provides all the major regions time zones with the current update history versions within http://www.iana.org/time-zones

Time Zone Database

The Time Zone Database (often called tz or zoneinfo) contains code and data that represent the history of local time for many representative locations around the globe.

Procedure to update time Zone list in Linux

1) From Repository

1.1 Red Hat/ CentOS:

yum update tzdata

(or) Debian / ubuntu

apt-get update tzdata

1.2 Check current date

In case that the current timezone is different as previous update stage, then you have to re-set te the time zone like:

 ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Santiago /etc/localtime

2. From Sources

2.1 First Downmload compressed file update from IANA Time Zone Database via three methods:

2.2 Extract the file and update the timezone database

tar xvzf tzdata2014c.tar.gz

2.3 Update timezone database

zic northamerica

2.4 he previous timezone

zic backward

2.5 Relink the localtime setting (in /etc/localtime) with the corrected timezone information using the following command

zic -l timezonename

Example:

zic -l America/Santiago

— Veritication

zdump -v timezoneInterest | grep YEAR
zdump -v America/Santiago | grep 2014

The output from the previous step should look like:

[root]# zdump -v America/Santiago | grep 2014
America/Santiago Sun Apr 27 02:59:59 2014 UTC = Sat Apr 26 23:59:59 2014 CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800
America/Santiago Sun Apr 27 03:00:00 2014 UTC = Sat Apr 26 23:00:00 2014 CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
America/Santiago Sun Sep 7 03:59:59 2014 UTC = Sat Sep 6 23:59:59 2014 CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
America/Santiago Sun Sep 7 04:00:00 2014 UTC = Sun Sep 7 01:00:00 2014 CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800